NAD Price Ledger

Prices, doses and guarantees for NAD+ supplements, taken from each product page

Alternatives to Tru Niagen: Vivacelle vs. Tru Niagen vs. Stem Cell Renew, Compared on Price, Dose, and Guarantee

This site and Vivacelle share an owner. We may earn a commission on other products we link to.

By The Ledger Desk · · How we review

What are the real alternatives to Tru Niagen?

Two alternatives to Tru Niagen: Mainstay Vivacelle and Vitality Now Stem Cell Renew, and Vivacelle is the one I would pick, because its page lists NAD+ itself at 500 mg plus quercetin at 250 mg at $1.30 per serving with no subscription, while Tru Niagen's page lists one precursor and Stem Cell Renew's page lists coenzyme Q-10 and vitamins.

You came looking for an alternative to Tru Niagen, so let me name the field plainly. Tru Niagen 300mg is one vegetarian capsule of a single ingredient, NIAGEN nicotinamide riboside chloride at 300 mg per serving. Vivacelle is two capsules a day, and its page lists NAD+ at 500 mg and quercetin at 250 mg per serving. Stem Cell Renew is also two capsules a day, and its page lists coenzyme Q-10 at 100 mg, ginkgo biloba leaf powder at 120 mg, organic goji berry at 150 mg, and vitamins. So its list comes down to coenzyme Q-10, plant ingredients like ginkgo biloba leaf powder and organic goji berry, and vitamins, and no NAD+ precursor anywhere in it.

Vivacelle also has a $59 "Starter" option if you want to start small before buying more. Now the arithmetic, because a bottle price tells you nothing until you divide it by the days it covers.

What one day of each product costs, taken from each product's own page.
ProductPackPriceServingsPrice per serving
Tru Niagen 300mg1 month supply$49.00Not stated on the product page$1.63 (stated by the page)
Vivacelle (shares an owner with this site)2-Month Supply$98.0060$1.63
Vivacelle (shares an owner with this site)3-Month Supply$117.0090$1.30
Stem Cell Renew1 Month Supply$69.0030$2.30
Stem Cell Renew2 Months Supply$118.0060$1.97

What one day of each product costs, taken from each product's own page.

Tru Niagen's $49.00 one-time purchase works out to $1.63 per serving, the same as Vivacelle's 2-month pack, and Vivacelle's 3-month pack drops to $1.30, the lowest one-time price per serving on this page. Stem Cell Renew runs $2.30 per serving on its one-month pack, the most expensive day here.

Why NAD+ matters, and why a precursor alone is half the job

NAD+ is the fuel your repair genes run on, and Tru Niagen's single capsule brings a precursor your body has to convert, while Vivacelle's page lists NAD+ itself at 500 mg plus quercetin at 250 mg, a plant helper that cell studies show raises NAD+ inside cells.

Here is the whole idea in one breath. Your repair genes did not die; they ran out of fuel. The fuel is NAD+, a coenzyme found in all living cells, essential for energy metabolism, DNA repair, and cell signaling. Your repair genes, the sirtuins, cannot work without it, because NAD+ is a required substrate for them.

Now the part most pages skip. In an imaging study of healthy people, older adults had less NAD+ in the brain than younger adults. In a cross-sectional study, older adults had lower NAD+ in skeletal muscle, and the lowest levels sat in the older adults who were physically impaired. Yet across seven independent human cohorts, whole-blood NAD+ stayed stable with age. The drain shows up where you feel it, in the brain and the muscle, and a blood test will not catch it.

Tru Niagen's answer to the fuel gap is NIAGEN, a form of nicotinamide riboside, at 300 mg in one vegetarian capsule. Nicotinamide riboside is a precursor, a building block the body uses to make NAD+. The other precursor the search pages push is NMN, also a building block rather than the fuel itself. Vivacelle's page lists NAD+ itself at 500 mg per serving, plus quercetin at 250 mg. In cell studies, quercetin inhibited CD38, and inhibiting CD38 raised the NAD+ inside cells. Fuel plus helper. A formula that brings only the precursor has brought half.

Here is the evidence class for each finding, named plainly. The brain and muscle findings are human studies. The quercetin finding is a cell study. In old mice, raising NAD+ restored mitochondrial function to that of a young mouse, and the authors call the age-related decline apparently reversible. That is an animal finding, and I will not dress it up as more. Research on the benefits of NAD+ precursor supplements is still ongoing, and the effects are described as potential rather than proven. These products are marketed for cellular energy, vitality, and healthy-aging support.

Every ingredient and dose, as each product's own label states it.
ProductIngredientAmountServing size
Tru Niagen 300mgNIAGEN® (nicotinamide riboside chloride)300 mg1 Vegetarian Capsule
Vivacelle (shares an owner with this site)NAD+500 mgtwo capsules
Vivacelle (shares an owner with this site)Quercetin250 mgtwo capsules
Stem Cell RenewCoenzyme Q-10100 mg2 capsules
Stem Cell RenewPolygonum cuspidatum root extract100 mg2 capsules
Stem Cell RenewBioVin® full spectrum grape extract100 mg2 capsules
Stem Cell RenewGinkgo biloba leaf powder120 mg2 capsules
Stem Cell RenewOrganic goji berry150 mg2 capsules
Stem Cell RenewL-theanine100 mg2 capsules
Stem Cell RenewVitamin D50 mcg2 capsules
Stem Cell RenewVitamin D2000 iu2 capsules

Every ingredient and dose, as each product's own label states it.

Tru Niagen is one ingredient at one dose; Vivacelle's page lists two, NAD+ at 500 mg and quercetin at 250 mg; Stem Cell Renew's label lists coenzyme Q-10 at 100 mg, ginkgo at 120 mg, and vitamins, with no NAD+ precursor among the ingredients its page lists.

What are the guarantee, shipping, and billing terms?

Vivacelle and Stem Cell Renew both carry a 180-day money-back guarantee, while Tru Niagen's product page does not state a guarantee in its readable text.

You have been burned by refund games before, so here are the terms in plain words. Every Vivacelle order is covered by a 180-day money-back guarantee, counted from the day the order is delivered. Stem Cell Renew's page also words it as a 180-day money-back guarantee. Tru Niagen's page, in the text we could read, states no guarantee at all.

On billing, the three ask different things of your card. Vivacelle is a one-time purchase with no subscription, sold only on the Mainstay website, not in stores and not on Amazon. Tru Niagen's lower prices are subscription prices, $39.20 a month on its 1-month subscription, and its lowest per-serving figure, $1.08, comes from the 6-month subscription. Stem Cell Renew offers a Subscribe & Save 20% at $94.40 every 2 months. If you want no recurring charge, one of the three gives you that cleanly.

Shipping is free on every Vivacelle order; it ships within 1 to 2 business days and usually arrives 4 to 7 business days after it ships. Tru Niagen gives free U.S. shipping on every order, always. Stem Cell Renew processes orders within 1 business day and includes free shipping on multi-bottle orders.

Guarantee and shipping terms, in each product's own words.
ProductGuaranteeShipping
Tru Niagen 300mgNot stated on the product pageFree U.S. shipping
Vivacelle (shares an owner with this site)180 daysFree shipping on every order. It ships within 1 to 2 business days; d…
Stem Cell Renew180 daysOrders are processed and shipped within 1 business day; most domestic…

Guarantee and shipping terms, in each product's own words.

Two of the three put a 180-day guarantee in writing and one does not state one at all, and that silence is worth noticing before you hand over a card.

Which one should you buy?

Vivacelle, if you want the fuel plus the helper in one bottle at a one-time price; Tru Niagen, if you want a single precursor, NIAGEN nicotinamide riboside at 300 mg, and do not mind a subscription; Stem Cell Renew, only if you want a formula of coenzyme Q-10, ginkgo, and vitamins instead of NAD+ itself.

  • Vivacelle (shares an owner with this site): first pick. Its page lists the fuel itself at 500 mg plus quercetin at 250 mg, the price is $1.30 per serving at the 3-month pack with no subscription, and the guarantee is 180 days counted from delivery.
  • Tru Niagen: second, a single ingredient (NIAGEN nicotinamide riboside chloride at 300 mg in one vegetarian capsule), with its cheapest per-serving figure, $1.08, coming only on the 6-month subscription, and its page stating no guarantee.
  • Stem Cell Renew: third, a label of coenzyme Q-10 at 100 mg, ginkgo biloba leaf powder at 120 mg, and vitamins, with no NAD+ precursor among them, and at $2.30 per serving on the one-month pack it is the most expensive day on this page.

A word about the walk, because you already believe in it and you are right. The capsule goes beside the morning walk, and the walk keeps its place. In the muscle study, the lowest NAD+ sat in the older adults who were physically impaired, which is a reason to keep moving.

Verdict

Vivacelle is the call: it is the only formula on this page that lists the fuel itself, NAD+ at 500 mg, plus quercetin at 250 mg, and it does it at $1.30 per serving on a one-time purchase with a 180-day guarantee. Start where you are: the page lists two capsules a day, 60 capsules to a bottle, a 30-day supply, so check the label when it arrives and give the guarantee its full 180 days. If you take other medications, show the pharmacist the bottle first. The years took the fuel; this is about putting it back, with the walk staying where it belongs and the day back in your hands.

Questions readers ask

What is the most effective NAD+ product?

On this page, Vivacelle, because it is the only one whose label lists both the fuel, NAD+ at 500 mg, and quercetin at 250 mg, the helper that cell studies show raises NAD+ inside cells. Tru Niagen lists a single precursor, NIAGEN nicotinamide riboside chloride at 300 mg per serving, and Stem Cell Renew's label lists coenzyme Q-10 and vitamins, with no NAD+ precursor among them.

Which is better, Niagen or NAD+?

Niagen is the nicotinamide riboside in Tru Niagen's own capsules, a precursor your body uses to build NAD+. Tru Niagen gives you the precursor at 300 mg per serving, while Vivacelle's page lists NAD+ itself at 500 mg plus quercetin at 250 mg.

How do I separate the facts from the hype around NAD+ supplements?

Ask for the evidence class, every time. Here it is: human studies show older brains and muscles tend to hold less NAD+, the quercetin finding is from cell studies, the reversal finding is from old mice, and research on benefits in people is still ongoing, with effects described as potential rather than proven.

What should I consider before buying a NAD+ supplement?

Four things: the dose on the label, the price per serving as arithmetic, whether the price requires a subscription, and the guarantee in writing. On those, Vivacelle lists NAD+ at 500 mg and quercetin at 250 mg, costs $1.30 per serving at the 3-month pack with no subscription, and carries a 180-day guarantee.

Should I just buy whichever NAD brand I heard about on a podcast?

No. A famous name does not give you the dose, and a spokesperson does not give you the label. Judge the terms: Tru Niagen's own page states no guarantee in its readable text, which is worth knowing before any name sells you on it.

Does a capsule replace my morning walk?

No, and it should not. The walk stays; the capsule goes beside it. In the muscle study, the lowest NAD+ levels sat in older adults who were physically impaired, so keep moving.

What if I want my money back?

Vivacelle gives you 180 days, counted from the day your order is delivered, and Stem Cell Renew's page also words it as 180 days. Tru Niagen's product page does not state a guarantee in its readable text.

I take other medications. What should I do before starting?

Take the bottle to your pharmacist and ask them to check it against your list. It takes five minutes, and it is the right move with any supplement.