Tru Niagen Review: What's In It, What It Costs, and How Vivacelle Compares
This site and Vivacelle share an owner. We may earn a commission on other products we link to.
By The Ledger Desk · · How we review
What is Tru Niagen, and what is in the bottle?
Tru Niagen is a one-ingredient supplement: each serving is a single vegetarian capsule with 300 mg of NIAGEN nicotinamide riboside, a form of vitamin B3 your body converts into NAD+.
That is the whole formula. No other vitamins, no plant extracts, nothing extra. One ingredient, one job: it gives your body the raw material, and your body turns that into NAD+. NAD+ is a coenzyme that helps your cells make energy and repair DNA, and it drops naturally with age. The company markets the capsule for supporting cellular energy, muscle health, heart health, and healthy aging.
Each container holds 90 servings, and the serving is one capsule. So there is nothing else on the label to sort through.
What does the evidence actually show?
NR does raise NAD+: a 300 mg daily serving is clinically shown to raise NAD+ levels by roughly 40-50% in most people. But the clinical evidence that this becomes a difference you can feel in daily life is limited or mixed.
Start with the strong part. The patented NR in Tru Niagen is one of the most clinically studied NAD+ precursors there is, with dozens of human clinical trials and over 25 years of supporting research behind it. It has been tested safely at doses up to 2,000 mg per day. It is also promoted as raising NAD+ more efficiently than other precursors such as NMN.
Here is what it has not shown yet. NAD+ levels in tissues decline substantially with age, and that decline is the reason this whole category exists. Raising the number in your blood is one thing. The trials have not settled whether it comes back to you as energy that lasts into the evening, or stairs taken at your old pace. The evidence for benefits you can feel is limited or mixed. A page that tells you otherwise is telling you more than the research does.
What does Tru Niagen cost, per bottle and per serving?
One-time, a 1-month supply is $49.00, and Tru Niagen's own page puts that at $1.63 per serving; the same month on subscription is $39.20, stated at $1.31 per serving.
The subscription ladder goes down from there: a 3-month supply is $101.60 on subscription, stated at $1.13 per serving, and a 6-month supply is $195.20, stated at $1.08 per serving. One-time, the larger packs are $127.00 for 3 months and $244.00 for 6 months. Shipping is free in the U.S. on every order, always.
The other name you will meet in this aisle is Stem Cell Renew: $69.00 one-time for a 1-month supply, which works out to $2.30 a serving, with its subscription taking the 2-month pack to $94.40. Vivacelle also has a Starter at $59.00 one-time if you want to begin small.
| Product | Pack | Price | Servings | Price per serving |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tru Niagen 300mg | 1 month supply | $49.00 | Not stated on the product page | $1.63 (stated by the page) |
| Vivacelle (shares an owner with this site) | 2-Month Supply | $98.00 | 60 | $1.63 |
| Vivacelle (shares an owner with this site) | 3-Month Supply | $117.00 | 90 | $1.30 |
| Stem Cell Renew | 1 Month Supply | $69.00 | 30 | $2.30 |
| Stem Cell Renew | 2 Months Supply | $118.00 | 60 | $1.97 |
What a single day of each product costs, side by side.
If you are willing to take a subscription, Tru Niagen's stated per-serving price falls below Vivacelle's best: $1.13 at 3 months and $1.08 at 6 months against Vivacelle's $1.30. The catch is that those lowest prices are subscription prices. One-time, the same packs run $127.00 and $244.00.
Is there a guarantee if it does not help?
Tru Niagen's product page does not state a guarantee in its readable text, so I cannot tell you what its refund terms are.
What the page does state is shipping: free U.S. shipping on every order, always. But a bottle you take for a month or two, while you decide whether it is doing anything, deserves terms you can read before you order. On that question the page is silent.
| Product | Guarantee | Shipping |
|---|---|---|
| Tru Niagen 300mg | Not stated on the product page | Free U.S. shipping |
| Vivacelle (shares an owner with this site) | 180 days | Free shipping on every order. It ships within 1 to 2 business days; d… |
| Stem Cell Renew | 180 days | Orders are processed and shipped within 1 business day; most domestic… |
Guarantee and shipping terms, as each product page states them.
For the comparison that matters to this page: every Vivacelle order is covered by a 180-day money-back guarantee counted from the day the order is delivered, it ships within 1 to 2 business days, shipping is free, and delivery usually takes 4 to 7 business days after it ships. Stem Cell Renew also states a 180-day money-back guarantee, with orders processed within 1 business day and free shipping on multi-bottle orders.
How does Vivacelle compare?
The two are built differently: Tru Niagen's serving is one vegetarian capsule with 300 mg of nicotinamide riboside, a precursor your body turns into NAD+, while Vivacelle's serving is two capsules listing NAD+ itself at 500 mg per serving, alongside quercetin at 250 mg.
The idea is short. Your repair genes did not die. They ran out of fuel. They cannot work without a fuel called NAD+, and studies find older brains and muscles tend to have less of it, even though blood levels hold steady with age.
These are human findings. In an imaging study of healthy people, older adults had less NAD+ in the brain than younger adults. In a study of muscle, older adults had less NAD+ than younger adults, and the least was in the older adults who had the most trouble moving. And across seven separate groups of people, whole-blood NAD+ held steady with age.
The quercetin is there for the drain side of the problem: in cell studies, quercetin inhibited CD38, and inhibiting CD38 raised the NAD+ inside cells. And in old mice, raising NAD+ restored the cells' energy machinery to that of a young mouse. The authors call the age-related decline apparently reversible. Said plainly: this is an animal finding.
| Product | Ingredient | Amount | Serving size |
|---|---|---|---|
| Tru Niagen 300mg | NIAGEN® (nicotinamide riboside chloride) | 300 mg | 1 Vegetarian Capsule |
| Vivacelle (shares an owner with this site) | NAD+ | 500 mg | two capsules |
| Vivacelle (shares an owner with this site) | Quercetin | 250 mg | two capsules |
| Stem Cell Renew | Coenzyme Q-10 | 100 mg | 2 capsules |
| Stem Cell Renew | Polygonum cuspidatum root extract | 100 mg | 2 capsules |
| Stem Cell Renew | BioVin® full spectrum grape extract | 100 mg | 2 capsules |
| Stem Cell Renew | Ginkgo biloba leaf powder | 120 mg | 2 capsules |
| Stem Cell Renew | Organic goji berry | 150 mg | 2 capsules |
| Stem Cell Renew | L-theanine | 100 mg | 2 capsules |
| Stem Cell Renew | Vitamin D | 50 mcg | 2 capsules |
| Stem Cell Renew | Vitamin D | 2000 iu | 2 capsules |
Every ingredient and dose, as each product page lists it.
The daily routine is short: two capsules a day, 60 capsules to a bottle, 30 servings per container. It is a one-time purchase with no subscription, and it is sold only on the Mainstay website, not in stores and not on Amazon.
Now the trade-off, stated plainly: Tru Niagen's NR carries the human trial record (dozens of trials over more than 25 years), while Vivacelle's quercetin evidence is from cell studies and its most striking finding is in mice. One gives you a single deeply studied ingredient. The other gives you the fuel itself plus a helper aimed at the drain.
Is Tru Niagen worth it?
As a single studied ingredient at a fair subscription price, Tru Niagen earns a yes; as the answer to the loss you actually feel, the evidence is limited or mixed, and Vivacelle at $1.30 a serving with a stated 180-day guarantee is the stronger overall buy.
If what you want is one precursor with a deep trial record behind it, Tru Niagen earns that: the NR in it is among the most clinically studied NAD+ precursors, and its subscription price of $39.20 a month, stated at $1.31 a serving, is fair for it. What you give up is a stated guarantee on the page and a broader formula.
If what you want is the fuel itself plus a helper, a one-time purchase with no subscription, and a 180-day money-back guarantee, Vivacelle is the better fit: NAD+ at 500 mg and quercetin at 250 mg per serving, $117.00 one-time for the 3-month supply at $1.30 a serving, covered from the day the order is delivered.
Verdict
My call is Vivacelle, the 3-month supply, $117.00 one-time: $1.30 a serving, a 180-day money-back guarantee counted from the day it lands at your door, and no subscription deciding anything for you. Two capsules a day, 60 capsules to the bottle, a 30-day supply. Keep the morning walk. The walk and the capsule are on the same side. And if you take other medications, show the label to your pharmacist before you start. You will find it only on the Mainstay website.
Questions readers ask
How long does it take for Tru Niagen to start working?
There is no honest timeline yet: NR reliably raises blood NAD+ levels, but the clinical evidence that this becomes a difference you can feel in daily life is limited or mixed.
What are the side effects of Niagen?
The AI Overview for this search reports occasional mild side effects: stomach upset, nausea, and sleep changes. It also notes that dramatic anti-aging benefits are not strongly proven in humans. On the safety side, the key ingredient has been tested safely at doses up to 2,000 mg per day.
What is NAD supplement used for?
NAD+ is a coenzyme that helps your cells make energy and repair DNA, and it drops naturally with age; supplements built around it are marketed for supporting cellular energy, muscle health, heart health, and healthy aging.
Is Cata Kor NMN legit?
I cannot tell you. Nothing in what we reviewed covers that product, and I will not guess about a company I have no facts on. If you are weighing NMN against NR, NR is the one promoted as raising NAD+ more efficiently and the one with the deeper trial record.
How does NR compare to NMN as an NAD+ precursor?
NR is promoted as raising NAD+ more efficiently than NMN, and it is one of the most clinically studied NAD+ precursors, with dozens of human clinical trials and over 25 years of supporting research.
What does the evidence actually show?
NR reliably raises blood NAD+, roughly 40-50% at a 300 mg daily serving, but the clinical evidence that this becomes a difference you can feel in daily life is limited or mixed.
Is this NR supplement worth it?
If you want one deeply studied precursor and do not mind a subscription, Tru Niagen's stated $1.31 a serving is a fair price for it. If you want the fuel itself plus a helper, a stated 180-day guarantee, and a one-time purchase with no subscription, Vivacelle's 3-month at $1.30 a serving is the better buy.